We love everyone

Norwegian/Norsk norway-32

I went to the mosque this week for Jummah-prayer. It is a special prayer held every Friday afternoon in the mosque, that consists of a sermon followed by a short prayer. It is not required for women to attend, but I try to go every now and then just to connect to the community and meet with other Muslim women that I don’t get the chance to see that often. I am thankful that I went this week. The sermon and prayer were nice and soothing like usual, yet the best part was the people we met outside of the mosque. A few people from the surrounding community had come to hold signs and show support. I was amazed. The signs had messages such as “We love everyone”, “We are all Americans”, and “You are my neighbor, I’m glad you are here!”. After the prayer, there was lively conversation outside the mosque. As I talked to some of the community members who had shown up, one couple told me they had lived in Indonesia several years, and though they were Christian and their neighbors were all Muslims, they had been welcomed by their neighbors in Indonesia. By coming out this week, they just wanted us to know that we are welcome here in the United States, and that meant a lot to me.

I was raised as a Christian, and many of the values I was taught as a child I’ve also found in Islam. Both of the religions encourage you to be good to those around you. In Christianity, there is the golden rule “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you” and in Islam, it is as the Prophet Muhammad (Peace be Upon him) said, “None of you will believe until you love for your brother what you love for yourself”.

Sources: Hadith 13, The forty hadith compiled by Imam Nawawi

Leave a Reply

